▲ People's Power Yoon Seok-yeol (clockwise from the top left of the photo), Hong Jun-pyo, Yoo Seung-min, Choi Jae-hyeong, Won Hee-ryong, Ha Tae-kyung, Hwang Kyo-an, Ahn Sang-soo

Former Prosecutor General Yoon Seok-yeol and Rep. Hong Jun-pyo, the powerful presidential contenders of the People's Power, successfully passed the first gate of the primary race.

Former Assemblyman Yoo Seung-min, former Auditor General Choi Jae-hyung, and former Jeju Governor Won Hee-ryong also joined the second preliminary (cut-off) race.

The People's Power Election Commission announced today (15th) that as a result of the first cut-off, it was narrowed down to eight candidates, including Ahn Sang-soo, Won Hee-ryong, Yoo Seung-min, Yoon Seok-yeol, Choi Jae-hyung, Ha Tae-kyung, Hong Jun-pyo, and Hwang Kyo-an (in alphabetical order).

The rankings of the eight people and their specific vote percentages were kept private.

Of the 11 candidates in the preliminary round, three were eliminated, including Park Jin, Jang Seong-min, and Jang Ki-pyo.

This cut-off was conducted in the form of 80% opinion polls and 20% party member votes. 

(Photo = Yonhap News)