“We came to the conclusion that it is necessary to extend the emergency regime in Tokyo and Okinawa,” TASS quotes Nishimura's statement made during a meeting of the expert commission.

The minister added that Saitama, Kanagawa, Chiba and Osaka have been added to the list of prefectures with an emergency regime.

Earlier it was reported that the Japanese authorities introduced an emergency regime in Tokyo due to the situation with coronavirus infection until August 22.