Former alderman of The Hague Tom de Bruijn (D66) will become Minister for Foreign Trade and Development Cooperation in the outgoing cabinet.

VVD MP Dennis Wiersma becomes State Secretary for Social Affairs and Employment.

D66 MP Steven van Weyenberg is appointed State Secretary for Infrastructure and Water Management.

The three future ministers will be sworn in on 10 August at Huis ten Bosch Palace.

King Willem-Alexander will be present.

De Bruijn is chairman of the Supervisory Board of the Clingendael Institute, which specializes in foreign relations.

He teaches at Leiden University.

The political scientist and former diplomat was a member of the State Council, part of the Council of State, from 2011 to 2014.

Before that, De Bruijn was the Dutch Permanent Representative to the European Union in Brussels from 2003 to 2011.

Previously, he was Director-General for European Cooperation at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

Former youth unemployment project leader and current MP Wiersma will take over the portfolio that was not filled after his party colleague Bas van 't Wout became Minister of Economic Affairs and Climate.

Van 't Wout has been at home with a burnout since May and will not return to the post.

Before his position as a member of parliament, Van Weyenberg was a civil servant at the ministries of Social Affairs and Employment and Economic Affairs.

From 2019 to 2021 he was deputy leader of D66.

Recently, a number of shifts have taken place in the cabinet. Sigrid Kaag has become Minister of Foreign Affairs and was unable to join the post for Foreign Trade. Wouter Koolmees could no longer do the work of the State Secretary for SZW and wanted another State Secretary. Van Weyenberg succeeds Stientje van Veldhoven, who leaves her position early because she has found other work.