WhatsApp published an updated support article.
In February, it said it would restrict the app’s operations immediately after the deadline if the terms were not accepted.
Now that is no longer the case.
WhatsApp stresses that no one’s account will be deleted, and functionality will not deteriorate on May 15th.
When the reminder becomes permanent, WhatsApp's performance will degrade until the terms are accepted.
However, not at the same time for all users.
At first, the user will no longer have access to their chat list, but will still be able to answer voice and video calls.
If notifications are on, you can tap them to read and reply to a message or call back a missed call.
A few weeks later, this functionality also disappears, and WhatsApp stops delivering messages and calls to the phone.
WhatsApp promises not to delete a user’s account even if they do not accept the terms.
At the same time, however, it recalls that unused accounts are generally deleted after 120 days.
The support article makes it unclear whether the crippled account will therefore be interpreted as inactive.
According to a separate support article, inactivity means that a user application is not connected to WhatsApp.
This usually means that the application is on a device that does not have an internet connection.
The service explains that companies pay for the opportunity to provide customer service on WhatsApp and that some functions need to connect to Facebook.
WhatsApp has further asserted in the aftermath that the change will not expand its ability to share information with Facebook anywhere else.
However, WhatsApp assured TechCrunch last week that its user base is on the rise.
However, it did not reveal the figures.
According to a WhatsApp representative, the majority of users who have been notified of acceptance of the new terms have accepted the terms.
The service did not tell you how many users have been shown this.
Read more: This is how Telegram and Signal win in the WhatsApp storm