Russian skier Alexander Bolshunov’s outrage has been a hot topic since last Sunday.

Bolshunov overturned Finnish skier Joni Mäki in the Salpausselä World Cup.

Mäki, who anchored Finland's message, closed the outer lane that Bolshunov was aiming for at the beginning of the final and won the Russian star in the final match.

Bolshunov bounced off Mäki's game shop and tackled the Finn unsportsmanlike in the finish.

Bolshunov has already had time not only to apologize for what happened, but also to explain his actions.

According to him, this was damage caused by a cider crime.

- When I crossed the finish line, I wanted to talk to Mäki about why he did the way he did.

My skis were really fast, and when I tried to stop, my bandages were broken.

I wasn’t meant to drive over him - I just wanted to talk to him, Bolshunov told Norwegian channel NRK earlier in the week.

  • Read more: Is this the truth about Alexander Bolshunov's rage?

    A wild assertion about the horror situation in Lahti from a Russian star

On Wednesday, Bolshunov commented on the incident in the program of the Russian sports channel Match TV.

- I think that to keep the skiers have the ethical rules of the game.

If the Finn had not done anything, the reaction would not have followed, Bolshunov said.

Bolshunov - and the Russian ski team - have firmly adhered to the view that Joni Mäki’s “wedging” at the beginning of the final line was against the spirit of good sport.

For example, Harri Kirvesniemi, Ilta-Sanomat's ski expert, has completely disagreed.

- I wonder from these statements that Joni's actions would have been somehow unsportsmanlike.

He made his own decisions to win his rival according to the rules book.

I've watched the final live at least five times.

Mäki takes exactly the same straight line to the outer lane from the curve, he does not change lanes at any point, Kirvesniemi comments earlier.

  • Read more: Did Joni Mäki work properly in the scandalous final straight?

    An unequivocal judgment from Harri Kirvesniemi

It can be read from Bolshunov's comments that he still thinks that Mäki acted unsportsmanlike in the situation.

- I respect everyone who competes honestly.

I'm sorry for what I did after Mäki-case.

He has not yet apologized.

We shook hands, but I don’t know if it was a sign of a ceasefire or not, Bolshunov said on Match TV.

The World Cross Country Skiing Cup continues this weekend in Falun, Sweden.

Bolshunov is on site, but has already had time to consider whether to take part in the races due to Sunday’s events.

The Russian message team was disqualified from the race immediately after Bolshunov’s trick, but there has been speculation on the additional penalty.

On Wednesday, the Finnish Ski Association submitted a written request for clarification to the disciplinary body of the International Ski Association Fis.

No possible additional penalty has been announced so far.

  • Read more: Aleksandr Bolshunov fears severe punishment for his outrageous act