Joe Biden in Wilmington, January 15, 2021. -


As of Monday, most non-US citizens who have visited Britain, Brazil, Ireland and much of Europe will no longer be allowed to enter the United States, a decision reimposed by Joe Biden, four days after taking office, said a White House official on Sunday.

The ban will also affect travelers who have recently traveled to South Africa due to the appearance of new variants of the coronavirus that are more transmissible in the United States, the official added.

Sanitary rules toughened

This decision by the Democratic president is part of the new administration's plan to fight the Covid-19 epidemic which is blazing in the most affected country in the world, both in terms of infections (25.1 million) and deaths ( over 419,000).

He estimated on Friday that the death toll from the disease in the United States "should reach much more than 600,000".

In the first days after taking office on Wednesday, Joe Biden toughened the rules for wearing masks and ordered the quarantine of people traveling to the United States by plane.

The reverse of Trump

During his last days in office, Donald Trump announced that the ban on entry to the United States for travelers from much of Europe and Brazil would be lifted, but the Biden administration has said it would immediately revoke this order which was due to go into effect on January 26.

Donald Trump announced on January 31, 2020 an initial ban on non-American travelers entering from China to stop the spread of the coronavirus.

The ban was extended to European countries on March 14.


United States: First Macron-Biden phone call since the inauguration this Sunday evening


United States: Joe Biden urges Americans to wear health masks on Instagram

  • Borders

  • Covid 19

  • Coronavirus

  • World

  • Joe biden

  • United States