Yerevan / Baku (dpa) - In the conflict with Azerbaijan over the South Caucasus region Nagorno-Karabakh, Armenia is relinquishing control of more than 120 localities.

The Armenian government published a list with a total of 121 towns and villages under Azerbaijani control.

In some cases, Armenia lost control of the places last during fighting, and in some cases there is a surrender without a fight.

Parts of the areas that have now been surrendered are considered to be mined.

A Russian officer and four employees of the Karabakh civil protection ministry were injured in an explosion, according to the Interfax agency, citing the Russian defense ministry.

An officer in the Azerbaijani army was killed.

They had been searching the grounds for bodies.


On the night of November 10, the Armenian Prime Minister Nikol Pashinyan signed an agreement with the Azerbaijani President Ilham Aliyev to end the fighting with the mediation of Russian President Vladimir Putin.

Aliyev celebrated this as a "great victory".

Pashinyan, on the other hand, is confronted with calls for resignation during protests in Armenia because he is responsible for the "defeat" and the loss of the territories.

Nagorno-Karabakh has been contested between the two ex-Soviet republics of Armenia and Azerbaijan for decades.

In the new war that began on September 27, Azerbaijan regained large parts of the territory it had lost in the early 1990s.

The country saw itself supported by its «brother state», Turkey.

Armenia sees Russia as its protecting power.

At a meeting with Aliyev in Baku on Saturday, Russian Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov warned that the conditions had to be created in Karabakh so that people of different faiths and ethnicities could live together peacefully.

In the past there had been conflicts between Christian Karabakh Armenians and Muslim Azerbaijanis.

Around 2,000 Russian peacekeepers are stationed in Karabakh to monitor the ceasefire.

© dpa-infocom, dpa: 201123-99-436915 / 2