28 October 2020 The regions of Madrid, Castilla-La Mancha and Castilla y León have decided to close their borders until 9 November.

This was announced by the regional presidents after a meeting in Avila.

The news is reported by the newspaper El Pais.

The vice-president of the Community of Madrid, Ignacio Aguado, had insisted on the perimeter closure of the region "to protect the people of Madrid and the Spanish" and had anticipated that this decision would be announced after the meeting with the regional presidents of Castilla y León and Castilla -La Mancha, Alfonso Fernández Mañueco and Emiliano García-Page.

The Murcia region has also announced that it will close the borders of the region and all its municipalities.

It thus joins Navarra, La Rioja, Aragon, Asturias and the Basque Country, which have already closed their territories.

The data

The Spanish ministry of health has released the latest figures on the coronavirus pandemic in the country.

There are 19,765 new infections while 168 deaths are recorded.

A total of 1,136,503 people have been infected and 35,466 have died since the start of the pandemic, according to official data provided by health care.