30 July 2020 The EU council has decided, for the first time, to impose sanctions following cyber attacks. Restrictive measures were issued against six people and three entities - Russian, Chinese and North Korean - responsible for carrying out or participating in various cyber attacks.

Among them, the attempted Russian cyber attack against the organization for the prohibition of chemical weapons (OPCW) and the attacks publicly known as "Wannacry", "Notpetya" and "Operation cloud hopper".

The penalties imposed include travel bans and asset freezes. It is also forbidden to make funds available to blacklisted persons and entities.