Flachau (dpa) - The German slalom riders experienced a bitter disappointment at the night race in Flachau.

When Slovakia's Petra Vlhova won, Christina Ackermann came out of the kick after a few goals and gave up. The best German was Lena Dürr, weakened by an infection, in 25th place, Marina Wallner in 27th place.

In the duel for the Ski World Cup victory, Vlhova caused the four-time slalom world champion Mikaela Shiffrin the second defeat in succession. The 24-year-old prevailed against the Swede Anna Swenn Larsson with a lead of 0.10 seconds. US star Shiffrin only remained third (+0.43). As in the previous year, the Slovakian was unbeatable and went through 40 points in the discipline ranking against the still leading American, who is only 80 points ahead. In the 25 slalom races since Frida Hansdotter's victory in January 2017 in Flachau, there was no other winner than Vlhova (6 wins) or Shiffrin (19).

After a strong slalom season, Ackermann, in particular, had big plans for the season’s most prestigious women's race, worth around 174,000 euros. But then she already lost all chances for a top position in the first run. "That was forgotten," she said. "I don't know exactly what was going on." In the final, Ackermann blundered after just a few goals, got out of rhythm and gave up exasperated.

«Now we have more than a month until the next slalom. You can practice a little and turn a few screws, ”is how Dürr summed up the“ disappointing day ”for the DSV women. "We can do it better than we showed it today." After all, she herself could explain that she was slightly sick. «The liveliness was certainly not there. I've been in bed for three days now, it certainly didn't help, ”she said. Still, it annoyed her not to have attacked again. «There was really a gas course in the first run. I didn't succeed at all. The second was completely different. He shot brutally. »In the end, she was even the best DSV runner.


World Cup standings

Homepage Ski World Association FIS

News on the homepage of the German Ski Association

Athletes of the German Ski Association