Teller Report

Now you can see non-English news...

Announcement of the Nobel Prize winners: Watch live who receives the Nobel Peace Prize


Will Malala Yousafzai once again have a young activist win the Nobel Peace Prize? The Swede Greta Thunberg should have good chances. The livestream from Oslo

At the end of the Nobel Prize Week, today in Oslo, it will be announced who will receive the Nobel Peace Prize. The announcement can follow you starting from 11 o'clock in the Livestream. The prize, which will be awarded for the 100th time this year, is endowed with nine million Swedish kroner (around 830,000 euros).

A promising candidate is the Swedish climate activist Greta Thunberg. The founder of the Fridays For Future movement, after Malala Yousafzai, would be the second young woman in a few years to be awarded the prize before the age of 18. Yousafzai was honored in 2014 for her commitment to the rights of children.

223 people and 78 organizations have been nominated for the award this year. Bookmakers see Thunberg as well as the Ethiopian Prime Minister Abiy Ahmed as a promising candidate. He had made peace with Ethiopia's bitter rival Eritrea after years of conflict. Other promising nominees will be Brazilian chief Raoni Metuktire and New Zealand's prime minister Jacinda Ardern. The group Reporters Without Borders, which supports the worldwide press freedom, can also hope.

A few hours before the announcement there was a possible hint on Twitter that the Nobel jury in Oslo has actually opted for Thunberg: The official Nobel account tweeted a photo of Yousafazi and Nadia Murad Basee Taha, the laureate of last year. A signal that it will be a young woman again this time? At any rate, the picture of the two youngest Nobel Peace Laureates to date was accompanied by the words "Who will win the Nobel Peace Prize this year? Stay tuned to hear it."

Source: zeit

Similar news:

You may like

News/Politics 2019-10-07T04:49:23.197Z
Life/Entertain 2019-10-08T09:34:52.347Z

Trends 24h


news 2020/01/27    

© Communities 2019 - Privacy