Stockholm (AFP) This year's Nobel Prize in Chemistry goes to the three scientists John Goodenough from the USA, Stanley Whittingham from Great Britain and Akira Yoshino from Japan for the development of lithium-ion batteries. The "lightweight, rechargeable batteries" would be used today in all areas and could also store significant amounts of energy from solar and wind power, said the Royal Academy of Sciences on Wednesday in Stockholm as a reason. They cleared the way for a society without fossil fuels.