Stockholm (dpa) - The Nobel Prize for Physics this year goes to James Peebles (Canada / USA) as well as to Michel Mayor (Switzerland) and Didier Queloz (Switzerland) for their contributions to the understanding of the universe and the place of the earth in the Cosmos.

This was announced by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences in Stockholm on Tuesday.