Alcañiz (Spain) (AFP)

Marc Marquez (Honda) remained the fastest of the first two test sessions of the MotoGP Aragon Friday thanks to the blistering weather achieved in the morning even if the Yamaha, with in the order Maverick Vinales, Valentino Rossi and Fabio Quartararo, were the fastest in the afternoon.

None of these three drivers could get close to Marquez's time during the first session (1: 46.689), with Vinales making his best lap in the second in 1: 48.014, ahead of his team-mate Valentino Rossi of 057 / 1000th and Quartararo of 103 / 1000th.

If the rain were to be invited on Saturday morning for the 3rd practice session, it would be the five-time Spanish world champion who would start in pole position on Sunday at 13:00 local time (11:00 GMT).

Apart from him, all the other drivers improved their time in the afternoon, Pol Espargaro managing to hoist his KTM in 5th position while his teammate Mika Kallio, who now replaces Johann Zarco until the end of the season, is 17th.

According to the current MotoGP system, drivers who have achieved the top ten times in the first three free practice sessions participate directly in the qualifying session on Saturday (Q2), which determines the order of the first 12 places on the starting grid. The other drivers must participate in a qualifying session (Q1) and the two fastest times are drafted for Q2.

Marquez is currently well ahead of the world championship with a 93-point lead over Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati) with six races remaining. The Italian could only achieve the 8th time combined of the first two practice sessions and his teammate Danilo Petrucci the 12th. It was the Australian Jack Miller of the Pramac satellite team who was fastest Ducati with 6th place.

. Combined ranking of the first two free practice sessions of the GP of Aragon (MotoGP category) played Friday on the circuit of Aragon Motorland (5,077 km):

1. Marc Marquez (ESP / Honda): 1: 46.869

2. Maverick Vinales (ESP / Yamaha) at 1.145

3. Valentino Rossi (ITA / Yamaha): at 1.202

4. Fabio Quartararo (FRA / Yamaha-SRT) at 1.248

5. Pol Espargaro (ESP / KTM) at 1,523

6. Jack Miller (AUS / Ducati-Pramac) at 1,573

7. Cal Crutchlow (GBR / Honda-LCR) at 1.581

8. Andrea Dovizioso (ITA / Ducati) at 1.608

9. Joan Mir (ESP / Suzuki) to 1.772

10. Aleix Espargaro (ESP / Aprilia) at 1.835

© 2019 AFP