Monaco (AFP)

Barcelona fell in a spectacular group with Borussia Dortmund's Germans and Inter Milan, while the UEFA Champions League group stage fixture will pit Paris SG against Real Madrid after the draw Thursday in Monaco.

Barcelona's Messi and Antoine Griezmann - with or without Neymar? - have not raised the most coveted trophy of European football since 2015, and will have the difficult task in the group stage against Dortmund, finalist in 2013 and the Inter Milan, winner of the competition in 2010.

The modest Slavia Prague completes this group with the highest standing, with six prestigious posters on the program this fall.

But the two shocks of this first phase will take place in Santiago Bernabeu and the Parc des Princes between Real Madrid, holder of the record of victories and author of a tripled history 2016-2017-2018, and the PSG.

Neither of the two clubs, who had faced each other in the 2015/16 and the round of 16 in 2017/18 groups, have gone through the knockout stages last year, both beaten at home in home matches. Totally stunning: Real won by Ajax Amsterdam and PSG eliminated by Manchester United.

Against Bruges and Galatasaray, who are also in Group A, Madrilenians and Parisians are favorites for qualification in the round of 16, with the issue of the first place in the group and the advantage of receiving the return match of the 8th.

Among the other posters, Juventus Turin will be opposed to Atlético Madrid, while for Liverpool, title holder, the fate has reserved the Italians of Naples, as last year for the group stage, the Austrians of Naples and the Belgians of Genk.

The competition starts on September 17th and 18th, the group stage will end on December 10th and 11th. Only the first two of each pool will advance to the round of 16.

Group A

Paris SG, Real Madrid, Club Brugge, Galatasaray

Group B

Bayern Munich, Tottenham Hotspur, Olympiakos, Red Star of Belgrade

Group C

Manchester City, Dinamo Zagreb, Shakhtar Donetsk, Atalanta Bergamo

Group D

Juventus, Atletico Madrid, Bayer Leverkusen, Lokomotiv Moscow

Group E

Liverpool, Naples, Salzburg, Genk

Group F

Barcelona FC, Borussia Dortmund, Inter Milan, Slavia Prague

Group G

Zenit St. Petersburg, Benfica Lisbon, Lyon, RB Leipzig

Group H

Chelsea, Ajax Amsterdam, Valence, Lille

© 2019 AFP