Marc-Vivien Foé Prize 2023: Congolese Chancel Mbemba succeeds Seko Fofana

Chancel Mbemba was elected on Tuesday, May 30 best African player of the France Football Championship (Ligue 1) 2022-2023 by a jury gathered by RFI and France 24. In the standings, the Congolese is ahead of the Ivorian Seko Fofana, defending champion and the Nigerian Terem Moffi.

Chancel Mbemba, winner of the Marc-Vivien Foé RFI Prize - FRANCE 24. © RFI

Text by: Farid Achache Follow


Read more

This is a first since the creation of the Marc-Vivien Foé Award: a defender came out on top in the votes. With a few crampons ahead, the Marseillais Chancel Mbemba (207 points) was designated by a jury composed of a hundred participants, to climb on the first step of the podium in front of the Ivorian Seko Fofana (Lens). Only 11 points separate the two players. Nigerian Terem Moffi, who plays in Nice, completes the top three with 125 points, while the jurors had the choice between eleven names. This season, Ligue 1 brought together no less than a hundred African players.

Chancel Mbemba is the second Congolese player to be crowned after Gaël Kakuta in 2021. The former Porto defender arrived at Marseille on July 15, 2022, free of any contract, for three seasons. Before playing in France for the first time, the native of Kinshasa had walked the Belgian, English and Portuguese fields. Before him, another player from the Phocaean city, the Ghanaian André Ayew, had the favors of the jury in 2015.


2023: Chancel Mbemba (OM/ DR Congo)

2022: Seko Fofana (RC Lens/ Ivory Coast)

2021: Gaël Kakuta (RC Lens/DR Congo)

2020: Victor Osimhen (LOSC/Nigeria)

2019: Nicolas Pépé (LOSC/Ivory Coast)

2018: Karl Toko-Ekambi (Angers SCO/Cameroon)

2017: Jean Michaël Seri (OGC Nice/Ivory Coast)

2016: Sofiane Boufal (LOSC/Morocco)

2015: André Ayew (Olympique de Marseille/Ghana)

2014: Vincent Enyeama (LOSC/Nigeria)

2013: Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (AS Saint-Etienne/Gabon)

2012: Younès Belhanda (Montpellier HSC/Morocco)

2011: Gervinho (LOSC/Ivory Coast)

2010*: Gervinho (LOSC/Ivory Coast)

2009* : Marouane Chamakh (Girondins de Bordeaux/Morocco)

*The trophy was not yet called Prix Marc-Vivien Foé.


The Marc-Vivien Foé Prize 2023 rewards the African player who has shone the most in the 1-2022 France First Division Championship (Ligue 2023). Ligue 1 players who have represented an African national team and have not since changed their sporting nationality to a non-African country are eligible. The winner was chosen after a vote organised by Radio France Internationale (RFI) and France 24 with a panel of specialised journalists, consultants and football stakeholders.

Newsletter Receive all the international news directly in your mailbox

I subscribe

Follow all the international news by downloading the RFI application

Read on on the same topics:

  • Ligue 1
  • Football
  • DRC