Héloïse Goy, with Alexis Patri 9:52 a.m., April 7, 2022

The Regulatory Authority for Audiovisual and Digital Communication (Arcom) announces that since its creation four months ago, it has blocked no less than 250 websites which illegally broadcast sports programs.

These blockages are the consequence of the new so-called "anti-piracy" or "anti-streaming" law.

250 sites blocked in just four months.

This is the first assessment announced by the Regulatory Authority for Audiovisual and Digital Communication (Arcom).

The new audiovisual regulator explains that it blocked access to 250 sites that illegally broadcast matches and sports programs.

According to Arcom, this figure represents no less than nearly two-thirds of the illegal online audience.

These 250 blockages were allowed by the so-called "anti-piracy" or "anti-streaming" law, which has been in effect since the creation of Arcom. 

>> Find the media newspapers every morning at 9:10 a.m. on Europe 1 as well as in replay and podcast here

As a reminder, the Audiovisual and Digital Communication Regulatory Authority was created last January from the merger of the Superior Audiovisual Council (CSA) and the High Authority for the dissemination of works and the protection of rights on the Internet ( HADOPI).

The latter was precisely responsible for fighting against piracy on the Internet. 

Already five court convictions

The "anti-piracy" law allows broadcasters who have the rights for sports competitions to seize the judge and the Arcom to request the blocking of a site which illegally offers the content for which they have acquired the broadcasting rights.

Subsequently, the Arcom can ask Internet service providers to block services that broadcast these same competitions without authorisation.


Five pornographic sites could be blocked at the request of Arcom

For the moment, five court decisions have already been obtained: four for the benefit of the Canal+ and BeIN Sports channels for football and rugby, and one for the benefit of the Professional Football League for league 1 and 2.