Mayor Femke Halsema of Amsterdam has awarded the Andreaspenning to the members of the band De Dijk.

They received the Amsterdam award because of their influence on Dutch pop music and their contribution to the image of Amsterdam as a cultural capital, the municipality reports.

De Dijk, the name refers to the Amsterdam Zeedijk, has been around since 1981. The brothers Huub and Hans van der Lubbe started the band, which is celebrating its 40th anniversary this year.

They scored many hits, such as

Bleeding Heart


May Het Licht Uit


If She Is Not There


De Dijk was often in Paradiso, now almost eighty times.

The group has won various prizes, such as the Zilveren Harp in 1987, the Golden Harp in 1993, the Edison Oeuvre Prize in 2005 and the Pop Prize in 2008.

The Andreaspenning is intended for people who have made great achievements in the social, cultural, social or economic field for Amsterdam with a national appearance.

People who have volunteered for a social cause for at least ten years are also eligible for the award.

René Froger, Harry Slinger and Henny Vrienten, among others, previously received one.