Women's CAN: the road to Morocco 2022 and the 2023 World Cup is known

Qualifications for the next Women's African Cup of Nations, Morocco 2022. © Courtesy of CAF

Text by: David Kalfa Follow

3 min

The African Football Confederation has drawn lots for the qualifications for the next Women's African Cup of Nations (CAN 2022) on May 10, 2021 in Cairo.

This CAN 2022 will qualify for the 2023 World Cup in Australia and New Zealand.


Read more

Forty-four countries are officially on the starting line to play the next Women's African Cup of Nations (CAN 2022), the first to twelve teams in history.

For this CAN 2022, the African Football Confederation (CAF) also innovated during the draw.

Qualifications will in fact take place by sub-region.

This formula leads in particular to a shock between the Nigerians, queens of the continent, and the Ghanaian women, who had hosted the previous edition of the women's CAN.

There will also be an enticing Egypt-Tunisia.

A springboard to the 2023 World Cup

At the end of the first round, the 22 selections will play a second, with future shocks in perspective, such as that between the winners of Nigeria-Ghana and Niger-Côte d'Ivoire, or that between the winners of Egypt- Tunisia and Equatorial Guinea-DR Congo.

The eleven survivors of this second round will qualify for the final phase of the tournament, scheduled for July 2022 in Morocco.

The Cherifian Kingdom, which should also organize the first edition of the Women's Champions League in November / December, has great ambitions for the Atlas Lionesses.

In particular that they qualify for the next World Cup.

The semi-finalists of this CAN 2022 will effectively qualify directly for the 2023 World Cup in Australia and New Zealand.

Two other African teams will play an international repechage tournament, according to a system yet to be clarified.


First round

M1 - Uganda - Ethiopia

M2 - Kenya - South Sudan

M3 - Eritrea - Burundi

M4 - Djibouti - Rwanda

M5 - Malawi - Zambia

M6 - Tanzania - Namibia

M7 - Zimbabwe - Eswatini

M8 - Angola - Botswana

M9 - Mozambique - South Africa

M10 - Algeria - Sudan

M11 - Egypt - Tunisia

M12 - Equatorial Guinea - DR Congo

M13 - Sao Tome and Principe - Togo

M14 - Congo - Gabon

M15 - Central African Republic - Cameroon

U16 - Sierra Leone - Gambia

U17 - Liberia - Senegal

M18 - Mali - Guinea

M19 - Guinea-Bissau - Mauritania

M20 - Burkina Faso - Benin

U21 - Nigeria - Ghana

M22 - Niger - Ivory Coast

Second Does


M1 winner - M2 winner

Winner M3 - Winner M4

Winner M5 - Winner M6

Winner M7 - Winner M8

Winner M9 - Winner M10

Winner U11 - Winner U12

U13 winner - U14 winner

U15 winner - U16 winner

U17 winner - U18 winner

U19 winner - U20 winner

Winner U21 - Winner U22


Receive all international news directly in your mailbox

I subscribe

Follow all the international news by downloading the RFI application


  • Women's football

  • Sports