The Pop Stipendium goes to singer and rapper S10 this year.

The winner was announced on Saturday afternoon during the first digital edition of Eurosonic Noorderslag.

An amount of 10,000 euros is associated with the prize.

Besides S10, Yung Nnelg and Klangstof were also in the race.

Previous winners were Jacco Gardner (2018), Thomas Azier (2019) and Judy Blank (2020).

The Prins Bernhard Cultuurfonds has been awarding the Pop Stipendium annually since 2018 to a promising pop artist or band.

The cash prize can be used by the winner to further develop themselves.

S10, the stage name of Stien den Hollander, broke through with her debut album



The record was awarded an Edison in the alternative category last year.

The Popprijs, another prize that traditionally belongs to Eurosonic Noorderslag, will not be awarded this year.

That decision was made because the music sector was hit so hard this year that the organization considered it inappropriate.