The thirteen participants in the 2020 Junior Eurovision Song Contest will not travel to the organizing city of Warsaw in Poland.

The organization announces that the artists will perform in a studio in their own country in connection with the corona measures in the participating countries.

The show that takes place on November 29 will be presented from Poland and the intermission acts will also perform live in the studio.

The participating artists each sing in a studio in their own country.

The organization says that this decision was made to protect the health of the artists and to ensure that the competition is safe and fair.

In addition to the Netherlands, the 2020 edition will also include Malta, Belarus, France, Armenia, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Spain, Serbia, Ukraine, Russia, Germany and Poland.

For Germany it is the first time that they participate in the Junior edition of the Eurovision Song Contest.

Compared to last year, significantly fewer countries are participating.

Then there were nineteen participants.

Several countries have already pulled out due to the situation surrounding the corona virus.

The Dutch participant in the Junior Songfestival will be chosen on Saturday 26 September.

Duncan Laurence, Ronnie Flex and Emma Heesters take place in the jury.

The 2021 Eurovision Song Contest will take place in Rotterdam in May.

Decisions on this edition will be made at a later date.