The European Broadcasting Union (EBU) and broadcasters AVROTROS, NPO and NOS will broadcast a replacement program on May 16 instead of the final of the Eurovision Song Contest. Earlier this month it was announced that the Song Festival will not be held this year, but a show from the Netherlands will still be presented by Chantal Janzen, Jan Smit and Edsilia Rombley.

The show has been given the name Eurovision: Europe Shine a Light and is broadcast live from the Netherlands. Janzen, Smit and Rombley do the presentation from an empty studio. Nikkie de Jager, better known as NikkieTutorials, will also provide online content for the program as planned.

"Unfortunately, there will be no Eurovision Song Contest as we know it this year. Instead, we want to unite Europe on Saturday May 16 with a unique prime-time TV program. We encourage all broadcasters who would participate in this year's Eurovision Song Contest, and those in other countries, to broadcast this show in the spirit of unity and togetherness, "said Executive Supervisor Jon Ola Sand on behalf of the EBU.

Plans for the Song Festival in Rotterdam in 2021 are still standing

Executive producer of the show Sietse Bakker indicates that he wants to put the 41 chosen artists for the 2020 Song Festival in the spotlight. "In addition to a short fragment of their own song with which they would participate, they will perform a joint performance of a previous Eurovision hit. They do this, given the circumstances, at a distance and not in the Netherlands." Former participants are also approached for a contribution.

According to NPO chairman Shula Rijxman, this initiative does not detract from the intention to organize the Song Festival in Rotterdam next year. "The coming period will map out how we can achieve this together," she responds.

The Eurovision Song Contest would take place in Rotterdam in 2020, after Duncan Laurence won the 2019 edition. Earlier this month, it was announced that there will be no Song Festival this year due to the worldwide coronavirus outbreak.

In addition to a dozen other countries, AVROTROS announced that it would hold Jeangu Macrooy as a candidate for next year. Participants are required to enter the scene with a new number.



Watch the video clip of Jeangu Macrooy's song Grow