Teller Report

Now you can see non-English news...

Nobel Prize for Literature: Olga Tokarczuk and Peter Handke awarded the Nobel Prize


The winners of the Nobel Prize for Literature have been determined. The Swedish Academy awarded the award twice, because the award had failed in 2018 due to a scandal.

Olga Tokarczuk and Peter Handke awarded Nobel Prize - page 1

The writer Olga Tokarczuk from Poland and the Austrian Peter Handke have been awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature. This was announced by the Swedish Academy. Both prizes are endowed with nine million Swedish kroner each (around 830,000 euros).

The award was canceled last year because of a scandal at the Academy. The reason was a scandal over the cultural functionary Jean-Claude Arnault, who is said to have harassed or abused 18 female members of the Academy, women or daughters of academicians and employees for years. He is now serving a two and a half year sentence for rape.

To leave the crisis behind, the organization has now largely reorganized. The Nobel Committee was expanded to include external members.

Unlike scientific Nobel Prizes, the literary award is usually given to a single award winner. Only four times since the first award in 1901, two literary figures got him together, most recently in 1974. According to the Nobel Statutes, a maximum of two candidates may receive him for a year.

Source: zeit

Similar news:

You may like

Life/Entertain 2019-10-10T11:16:08.350Z

Trends 24h


life 2020/02/27    

© Communities 2019 - Privacy