Teller Report

Now you can see non-English news...

This has happened: the Nobel Prize in literature and the crisis of the Swedish Academy


It is almost two years since the Nobel Prize in Literature was last awarded. Since then, the Academy has undergone its deepest crisis ever: seven members have left their chairs, Jean-Claude Arnault has been imprisoned and last year's award was postponed. The cultural news has listed some of the most important events within the Swedish Academy since autumn 2017.

November 2017:

Dagens Nyheter publishes an article in which 18 women accuse Academy member Katarina Frostenson's husband of sexual abuse and harassment.

The Academy ends all cooperation with her husband, Jean-Claude Arnualt.


Author Elise Karlsson was one of those who testified about abuse

December 2017:


Nobel Laureate in Literature 2017: Kazuo Ishiguro

Kazuo Ishiguro receives the 2017 Nobel Prize in Literature and has the say on the crisis.

April 2018:


Sara Danius announces her departure

Several members leave their chairs, some will later return to work, others leave their post permanently. On April 12, Permanent Secretary Sara Danius and Katarina Frostenson will leave the job.

May 2018:

The Literature Prize 2018 is postponed, the Swedish Academy announces - for the first time since the Second World War, no Nobel Prize in Literature will be awarded in December 2018.

October 2018:

Jean-Claude Arnault is sentenced by the Stockholm District Court for a case of rape to two years in prison. The High Court then tightens the sentence to 2.5 years in prison for two cases of rape.


Jean-Claude Arnault in the High Court.

March 2019:

The Nobel Foundation announces that two prizes in literature will be awarded in 2019. After a long series of drop-outs and incursions, the Academy is again complete. The statutes have been amended so that membership is not lifetime unless one wishes to participate in the Academy's work. Since the crisis began, Lotta Lotass, Sara Danius, Jayne Svenugsson, Klas Östergren, Sara Stridsberg, Kerstin Ekman and Katarina Frostenson have been granted leave. They have been replaced by Eric M Runsson, Åsa Wikforss, Ellen Mattson, Mats Malm, Anne Swärd, Jila Mossaed and Tua Forsström.


The Nobel Foundation announces that two awards in literature will be awarded in 2019

Source: svt

Similar news:

You may like

News/Politics 2019-10-10T06:01:19.640Z
Life/Entertain 2019-10-12T13:37:40.096Z

Trends 24h

Life/Entertain 2020-02-21T14:29:23.510Z
Life/Entertain 2020-02-22T03:10:54.198Z


life 2020/02/22    

© Communities 2019 - Privacy