The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has awarded the Nobel Prize in Chemistry to John B. Goodenough, M Stanley Whittingham and Akira Yoshino. The award has been granted for their discoveries that have allowed the development of rechargeable lithium-ion batteries.

The Chemistry is the third of the awards that the institution communicates this week, after announcing Monday the Medicine, which fell to William G. Kaelin (USA), Sir Peter J. Ratcliffe (United Kingdom) and Gregg L. Semenza (USA), for its discoveries on how cells are able to recognize and adapt to the availability of oxygen; and Tuesday of Physics, awarded to cosmologist James Peebles and astrophysicists Michel Mayor and Didier Queloz , for their studies "to understand the evolution of the universe and the place that Earth occupies in it."

Last year, the Nobel Prize in Chemistry went to Frances H. Arnold , George P. Smith and Sir Gregory P. Winter for using the principles of evolution to develop proteins and antibodies to cure diseases and develop chemicals, such as biofuels or drugs , in a cleaner and more efficient way.

According to the criteria of The Trust Project

Know more