• Tweeter
  • republish

The French economist Esther Duflo (here at a press conference in Oviedo, Spain, in 2015) is one of the winners of the Nobel Prize in Economics 2019. REUTERS / Eloy Alonso / File Photo

The Nobel Prize for Economics was awarded Monday to Franco-American Esther Duflo and Americans Abhijit Banerjee and Michael Kremer for their work on reducing poverty in the world.

The winners' work " has introduced a new [experimental] approach to obtain reliable answers on the best way to reduce poverty in the world, " Göran Hansson, secretary general of the Royal Academy of Sciences, said in Stockholm. .

In the mid-1990s, Michael Kremer, 54, a professor at Harvard University, " demonstrated how powerful this approach can be by using field experiments to test various interventions that can improve educational outcomes in the classroom." western Kenya, "says the Academy.

Married to the city, Abhijit Banerjee and Esther Duflo then carried out similar studies on other issues and in other countries. Their experimental research methods now dominate the development economy.

Obama advisor

Esther Duflo, 46, professor of economics at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) , where her husband also works, is one of the most celebrated economists in the world, especially in the United States. Recipient of the 2010 John Bates Clark Medal, she is only the second woman to receive the Nobel Prize in Economics. She is also the youngest laureate in the history of the award, says the Academy.

2019 Economic Sciences Laureate Esther Duflo, born in 1972, is the second woman and the youngest person to be awarded the Prize in Economic Sciences. # NobelFacts #NobelPrize pic.twitter.com/0Ek8E7kLRh

The Nobel Prize (@NobelPrize) October 14, 2019

His work earned him in 2013 to be chosen by the White House to advise President Barack Obama on development issues by sitting on the new Committee for Global Development.

The latest winner of the Nobel Prize, the "Swedish Bank of Economics Prize in Memory of Alfred Nobel" was created in 1968 to celebrate the 300th anniversary of the Bank of Sweden.

(with AFP)