Cologne (dpa) - As in the previous year, VfL Wolfsburg won the double in German women's football. The undefeated champion so far this season won against outsiders SGS Essen with 4: 2 (3: 3, 3: 3, 1: 2) on penalties.

This made the Wolfsburg women the first women's team to celebrate their sixth cup triumph in series and beat the previous record of the 1st FFC Frankfurt. Pernille Harder (11th minute), Anna Blässer (70th) and Dominique Janssen (86th) scored for VfL, Lea Schüller (1st), Marina Hegering (18th) and Irini Ioannidou (90th + 1) for Essen . After a 3: 3 after 90 minutes, the extension remained goalless.

For Wolfsburg it was the fifth double and the seventh cup success. However, the record winner in this competition remains the 1st FFC Frankfurt with nine titles.

© dpa-infocom, dpa: 200704-99-673962 / 2

Numbers for the duel on the DFB homepage

Information about the game on the DFB homepage

SGS squad

NDR interview with Oberdorf

VfL squad

Previous cup winners