The US state of Minnesota has brought charges against the Minneapolis police force for human rights violations during the violent arrest of George Floyd. Governor Tim Walz and the Minnesota Department of Human Rights report that during a news conference on Tuesday, according to the US news agency AP .

Black American Floyd was killed last week after an agent held a knee to his neck for minutes.

The police officer responsible for Floyd's death, Derek Chauvin, has since been fired and charged with first-degree murder or manslaughter. Three other agents involved were fired, but not charged.

According to Walz, a Minnesota human rights commission will investigate the policies, procedures, and practices of the Minneapolis police over the past decade. According to the governor, that investigation should ultimately determine whether agents have systematically discriminated against African Americans.

Police have been charged with racism for decades

The committee will also make arrangements with Minneapolis policymakers and the police to take short-term measures to combat discrimination in the city.

In addition to this state investigation, an investigation by the FBI is ongoing. The U.S. Investigation Service is investigating whether Chauvin intentionally killed Floyd.

Critics have been accusing Minneapolis police for decades of discrimination and crackdown on African Americans and other minorities. However, according to those same critics, despite the appointment of the city's first black police chief ever in 2017, the police force is resisting change.

See also: Five questions about the causes of the massive unrest in the US

Black Lives Matter movement supported worldwide

Floyd's death has sparked a string of (violent) protests against racism and police brutality against the black people in Minneapolis and other US cities over the past week.

Meanwhile, anti-racism demonstrations, partly conducted in solidarity with the protest movement Black Lives Matter in the United States, have spread worldwide, including in the Netherlands.