Frankfurt / Main (dpa) - Three small publishers from Baden-Württemberg, Berlin and Leipzig are the main winners of the German Publishing Prize. The award was presented for the first time at the Frankfurt Book Fair.

A jury chaired by literary critic Denis Scheck had selected the winners from a total of 312 applications. The German Publishing Prize was established by the Minister of State for Culture Monika Grütters (CDU) and is endowed with more than one million euros. The three main winners each receive 60,000 euros. It is the Hädecke-Verlag from Weil der Stadt ("an oasis in the desert of the cookbook scene," according to the jury), the kookbooks-Verlag from Berlin ("this publisher stands for 21st-century poetry") and Spector Books Leipzig («artistically demanding books»).

60 other publishers each receive 15,000 euros. Four publishers with higher annual sales received an undoubted recognition: the Scientific Book Society, the publishing house Schwaneberger, the Edition Michael Fischer and the Reclam Verlag. According to the jury, they show "how tradition and future viability can be combined".

According to her press office, Minister of Culture Grütters praised the great dedication of smaller publishers: "Without them, the book culture in Germany would be a lot poorer - and with it the range of opinions and perspectives in the public discourse." The price is also a cover for small publishers in times of more menacing Concentrations on the book market.

Frankfurt Book Fair 2019

German publishing price